Beyond the Books: September 22, 2016

Welcome to this week’s  installment of…..

KissinBlueKaren

This meme is hosted by Beyond the Books.

She posts a prompt/question every week (mostly non-book related), and it gives an opportunity to blog.


The signs you are getting older

I hate getting older.  Really, I hate getting older.  I am in my early 30s now and there are a few times I am feeling older.  I thought I’d list them here for you – however, I now you guys have some more instances of feeling older, too.  Be sure to chime in the comments and share!

  • One of the biggest things is that I actually feel like an adult.  My sister-in-law and I had this conversation last month.  Life finally feels like I thought it would feel.  My days and weeks are filled with “adulting” – laundry, dishes, grocery shopping.  Adulting.  Yuck.
  • I get really cranky at all the random loudness outside at night.  When it was the 4th of July, I got really cranky when the neighborhood kids were shooting fireworks off after the cut-off time.  I wanted to go out on the porch, shake my fist, and say You whipper-snappers need to get inside!   Yup, old.
  • I realized that when teenagers or children are talking about something really old, it is usually something that happened in my “recent memory”.  Kids don’t know anything about the original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie, or the joy of prizes in the cereal, or even about events that make up our childhood (see the OJ Simpson trial).  These are things I remember, yet for them, they are ancient history.

Well, that’s just a few.  I could  go on and on – but that is something that “old people” do.  What signs do you see that mean you are getting older?

 

What are you reading today?

