IMWAYR – September 12, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicIt’s Monday and I am actually blogging!  Actually, I’m writing on Sunday evening, but still…..  This is improvement!


This past week I finished up a pretty amazing YA mystery novel.  Ripper, by Stefan Petrucha, follows Carver, a young teen in late 1800’s New York.  He is adopted by an eccentric old detective.  His new mentor, Mr. Hawking, wants him to discover the identity of his father from a mysterious note left at the orphanage for Carver.

In the course of his search for his father, there are a series of grisly murders.  Carver, his friends, and the secret detective agency led by Mr. Hawking, work to discover where this Jack the Ripper is, and hope to stop the murders.

I really liked this book.  There were a few chapters in the early-middle that were slow, but I enjoyed all of the action and mystery.  I also liked that the author gave me some clues, just like Carver, but left some unknown.  It made for a great ending!


I also dove into and devoured the second prequel novella to Stealing Snow, the upcoming novel by Danielle Paige.  In this installment, Queen Rising, we find Margot and her brother Go are being sold by their poor, abusive mother for money.  Margot is adopted by the Witch of the Woods and goes to the Hollow to learn magic.

Well, a book isn’t good if there are no twists.  Paige does not fail in this at all!  After a few years, Margot is banished/sent out from the Hollow because she is not learning magic.  Desperate, she ends up taking up with a robber.  He teaches her the trade.  Margot’s brother Go, who has grown up as the companion/friend of the Prince, tells Margot to leave and not visit him anymore.
What’s a girl to do?  You have to read the novella to find out!

Side note:  Someone remind me to not to read Danielle Paige’s prequel novellas before I have the upcoming novel in my hot little hands.  This is really KILLING me waiting until next week!


That’s it for this week!  I’ve got some good ones coming up in the TBR pile.  Tune in next week to see what I’ve read!

What are you reading today?

