IMWAYR – August 1, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I read two tragedies for my Shakespeare class.  I also finished reading a hilarious memoir by Jenny Lawson.


This week we focused on the tragedies in my Shakespeare class.  We read Othello and Macbeth.  I had never read either one before.  I actually loved both plays.

Othello was interesting because of the influence the other characters had on him.  He gave in to the influence of Iago and doubted Desdemona!

In Macbeth, we had a lot of interesting discussion about who was at fault for the death of Duncan.  The debate has centered blame on either Macbeth himself, Lady Macbeth, and fate (aka the witches).  Such a great discussion.

As for my personal reading, I finished Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy.  With a moderate amount of language, Lawson approaches life as someone who suffers from a multitude of mental and physical illnesses.  What I loved the most was her honest approach to the struggles she faces and the humor she finds in these situations!


Well, what did you read this week?  What do I need to add to my TBR?

What are you reading today?

