IMWAYR – May 8, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicThis week has been filled with a lot of work so that I could wrap up things at my job.  Today I am off to Chadron to take part in Professional Sequence class.  I’m also starting my Book-a-Day challenge – so follow along on Goodreads or Twitter to see what books I get read!

I was lucky enough to have time to finish an amazing YA nonfiction work.  Terrible Typhoid Mary:  A True Story of the Deadliest Cook in America, by Sarah Campbell Bartoletti, puts a very real and understanding spin on the story of Mary Mallon.

Mallon was a cook in the early 1900s in New York.  She was a well-respected cook who worked for well-off families.  However, she was unlucky enough to work with a series of families who were victims of the sometimes deadly typhoid disease.

The author dives deep into the motivations and events that led to Mary’s eventual imprisonment and quarantine.  Her engaging story makes Mary a sympathetic character and made me think about the motivations of those who wanted to study (and profit) from proving that Mary was a typhoid carrier.

I highly recommend this wonderful work for those interested in medical history.  The book reads like informative fiction – although everything is true!


I also devoured a book recommended by many of my YA Lit Class classmates.  Little Peach, by Peggy Kern, was an engaging and intense read.  Michelle, aka Little Peach, runs away from a really horrible situation (Grandpa dies, Mom is a drug addict, Mom’s boyfriend attempts to sexually assault her) to find a friend of hers in New York City.

Michelle doesn’t find her friend, but is instead taken in by a kid man named Devon.  However, Devon is actually a pimp.  Peach becomes one of his girls and experiences a life of prostitution, drugs, alcohol, and fear before eventually telling her story.

Little Peach does an excellent job dealing with the delicate nature of human trafficking while still exploring the comfort, then danger, then fear of her main character.  This is an intense read, but an excellent one.  It would be a great conversation starter for an older teen or adults.


Well, what did you read this week? Have you read either of these awesome books?

2 thoughts on “IMWAYR – May 8, 2016

  1. Many of the Little Peach readers told me I had to read it, so it’s on my list for summer, though I don’t know if I’ll get to it. 10,000 other books are also on my list for summer! I am looking forward to the Typhoid Mary book. Susan Bartoletti has written a number of great nonfiction books for middle grade and YA–I’d highly recommend looking for more of them. I think you would really enjoy everything she’s written.

    Like

    1. I really liked Bartoletti’s writing style. She wrote it in a narrative form and made Mary very sympathetic!
      I really LOVED Little Peach. I was a little nervous that it would be a bit too intense, but the way the author wrote it, the intense scenes were foggy in Michelle’s mind so they were not that intense at all.

      Like

What are you reading today?

