IMWAYR – April 4, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I made a decision that is very rare in my book life – I have set aside two books for a while!

I have enjoyed exploring Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs.  I love his style and the intriguing writing based off of vintage photos.  I really liked Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but I just couldn’t get into the sequel.  So, it is set aside for now.

 

I also really was getting to the stories of Inkheart, by Cornelia Funke.  The story of Mo, Meggie, and the other interesting characters in this world were good.  I just found that my TBR was calling me, so Inkheart is set off to the side for now too.


Now, on to what I read this week…

We went the poetry route for book club this week.  Paint Me Like I Am is a collection of poetry written by teens as part of the WritersCorp program.  This programming provides underprivileged teens an opportunity to express themselves through writing.

There was such depth and breadth to the poems and there were some that truly touched me.  We spent much of our book club discussing how we could use these poems to inspire our students, encouraging them to write, and tying writing prompts into cross curricular projects.  It was a quick read, but a good collection of poetry.

I also read Yellow Brick War, by Danielle Paige.  This is the third novel in the Dorothy Must Die series and it was just as good (or better) than the first two.  In this installment we find Amy working with the Council of the Wicked to find Dorothy’s original silver shoes.  They travel back to modern-day Kansas where Amy reunites with her mom, runs afoul of the principal, and makes unlikely friends with Madison (former enemy of Amy’s and new mom to Dustin Jr.) and Dustin.

Danielle Paige’s style is both gritty and engaging.  The often dark events are painted with wonderful word choice.  I created a picture this reading response because there were too many parts that I could envision not to do this response.  However, my wonderful art skills are :::cough::: lame ::::cough:::, so my illustration does not do justice to Paige’s prose.  I definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves a twisted tale, and fantasy writing that blends reality and magic.


Well, that’s where I was reading wise this week!  What did you read?  Do you have any new books for me to add to my TBR?  Let’s talk below…

2 thoughts on “IMWAYR – April 4, 2016

  1. I forced myself to finish reading Inkheart (I struggle with not finishing a book) and I never read the next two books. There are just some books in this world that I find interesting and intriguing but I find that I cannot finish for some odd reason (but then I force myself too because I feel like I owe it to the book).

    Like

    1. I have only not finished 1 other book in the last 5 years! So to admit that I am setting aside seems like a big deal. I even drug myself through The Hobbit which I hated!
      I love the premise of Inkheart but it seemed to be taking a really long time to get going.

      Like

What are you reading today?

