IMWAYR – March 21, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I have been reading some pretty great books.  In between all of my awesome reading I have had to do various things for work.  I didn’t find as much time to read as I would have liked, but I for sure read more than the “required” 4 hours.


For book club discussion this week, we read a verse novel.  Crank, by Ellen Hopkins tells us the journey that Kristina experiences as she becomes addicted to meth (aka The Monster).  Kristina finds herself almost becoming a different person – this girl named Bree who doesn’t care about good grades and only cares about having fun and partying.

In the author’s notes, Ellen Hopkins says that this book is entirely fictional.  However, she based the story on the experiences of her daughter, and other people’s children, and their addictions to meth.

File_000 (4)
I took a picture of p. 337 & 338 to show the dual readings. Text is copyright the author and publisher.

This book really touched me.  In the way the pages are laid out, you can read almost two versions of this story – one in which you hear all the inner thoughts of Kristina/Bree, and one of what her family sees.  In the pages above you can see how the family may have seen what Bree is going through by reading the left justified words.

This book was amazing.  I know a book is great when I stay up WAY to late to finish it and am dragging the next day because I missed sleep to read!


I also started working on John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines.  I’m about half way now, but it has surprised me as well.

Child prodigy Colin has just graduated high school.  He’s just been dumped for the 19th time by a girl named Katherine.  You see, Colin has only dated girls named Katherine (19 of them in fact), and he has been dumped by every single one of them.

Enter Colin’s BFF Hassan.  A year older than Colin, he comes to the rescue by suggesting an epic road trip until Colin is no longer heartbroken.  The boys convince their families and take off on an epic adventure.

So far, they have driven all night, stopped to see some crazy sights (burial place of Archduke Franz Ferdinand in Gutshot, TN?).  They end up meeting an eccentric company owner named Hollis, her daughter Lindsey, Lindsey’s boyfriend Colin (aka The Other Colin), and a hilarious cast of characters.

Meanwhile, our Colin is working on a Theorem of Katherines – a mathematical explanation of why he is always the Dumpee and why he keeps dating all these Katherines who are, clearly, Dumpers.

I am slowly getting into the book.  Part of me remembers Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and I kept feeling like there needs to be a female narrator/POV/main character.  So far, all Colin here.  However, my nerdy math-literature self is loving the mathematical explanations, the footnotes and random facts, and way that Colin thinks.  I’ll have to fill you in next week on how it ends!


That’s it from here!  What did you read this week?  Have you read Crank or An Abundance of Katherines?  What should I read next?  Let’s talk below…

4 thoughts on “IMWAYR – March 21, 2016

  1. I loved Crank! The combination of the language and the format create an incredibly strong story. The “Katherine’s” book, I was less of a fan of… It was a very slow start for me, although I felt some parts were good, the plot didn’t move along and wasn’t as strong as I anticipated it would be.

    Like

    1. I am surprised that the main character is a boy in Katherines. I mean, intellectually I knew. But I am with you that the plot isn’t as strong. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

What are you reading today?

