IMWAYR – February 1, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicYikes!  Where did January go?

We are now into February and the 4th week of YA Lit class.  I just wanted to give you a quick review (and links about) the two books I read last week!

El Deafo, by CeCe Bell is an amazing graphic novel that follows a young CeCe and her journey through elementary school.  Her humor, honesty, and boundless imagination made this an excellent read.  I can’t wait to talk about it at book club on Tuesday!


 

The other book I read is one that is going to be a book that defines my adult life.  All American Boys, by Jayson Reynolds and Brenden Kiely, follows two high school seniors – Rashad and Quinn – in the week after Rashad was brutally beaten by a neighborhood (white) police man.

I’ve written and read much about this book this week.  Find my Reading Response here.

I also found a Readers Guide by Simon & Schuster – check it out here.

Follow the conversation about this book in our Twitter class by searching for the hashtag #yalitclass or my profile @WyomingJen .

This book is so very important that everyone should read it.  We should continue our conversations about racism, violence, and prejudice always.  Our silence is another form of violence.


Did you read All American Boys?  How about El Deafo?  Let’s talk below!

What are you reading today?

