Harry Potter Thursday – January 21, 2016

HPMOTW (2)Welcome back to Harry Potter Thursday!  I took a few weeks off between the semesters, but I thought I’d blog myself right back to it.

Harry Potter Moment of the Week hosted by Uncorked Thoughts!  Check out the blog-hop and other cool stuff over there!

The aim of this meme is to share with fellow bloggers a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/ films/ J. K. Rowling herself or anything Potter related!


Today’s Potter Question: Would you rather have Potions with Snape or tea with Umbridge?

It is interesting that this question, which has been scheduled for quite a while I think, comes a week after Snape actor Alan Rickman passed away.  There has been much in the Potter-verse about Rickman and he certainly portrayed Snape in a convincing way.

Now, onto the question.  As much as I dislike Snape as a character – I still don’t agree with the “secret hero”/always loved Lily view of him – I would do anything in the world to avoid Umbridge.  Her pink suits and evil “teaching methods” just are horrid.  If there is 1 big baddie in the Wizarding World, it would be Dolores Umbridge.

I guess while I am taking Potions with Snape (okay, maybe after class), I’d try to figure out if he was a good guy or a bad guy.


How about you?  Potions with Snape?  Tea with Umbridge?  Let’s talk below….

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Thursday – January 21, 2016

  1. I would definitely rather have Potions with Snape! Umbridge is probably still my most hated character in the Harry Potter series. The pink and the attitude was just too much. Although Snape has his downsides, he is at least a (slightly?) better person. There just seems to be something about him that by the end of the series I couldn’t completely loathe.

    Like

    1. I don’t know why I absolutely do not like Snape, but I really don’t. I think that no matter how you feel about him, Umbridge is the most evil, bad baddie in the whole Wizarding World!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Potions with Snape wound much more appealing than tea with Umbridge. While both characters are unsettling, there is something about Snape. (Perhaps the love of Lily storyline, I’m not sure)

    Like

What are you reading today?

