IMWAYR – January 4, 2016

ItsMondayGraphicYikes!  2016 is already here!

This past week was super busy with a trip to see family, purchase a new (to us) car, and celebrate birthdays with people from both sides of the family.  So, not much reading got done.  But, I thought I’d fill you in on my bookish news for the week anyway.


The Bookstore Trip

I was very lucky to get to go to the bookstore with my sister-in-law and 6-year-old niece.  It was so fun to get to explore the stacks and make (and get) recommendations.  I think the best part was my niece saying, “Why is the children’s section in the back?  When will we get to the children’s section?”

I got to share a bunch of my favorite books from Children’s Lit with them and they certainly took a few books home with them.  My sister-in-law recommended Pete the Cat, so  that’s first on my library list for the year.

I also bought this side of the family a copy of The Adventures of Beekle, by Dan Santat.  I read this to my niece and her family at the house and they LOVE it.  Beekle for the win!


Books Under My Tree
Photo Credit:  Creative Commons
Photo Credit: Creative Commons

My Wishlist Wednesdays must have worked because I got many of these books as gifts.  Highlights from under my tree include

Passionate Learners, by Pernille Ripp – an excellent addition to my professional development library

The Worst Class Trip Ever, by Dave Barry – humorous, middle grades lit?  I’m in!

How to Fight Presidents, by Daniel O’Brien – a humorous look at the Presidents?  Also, who can resist a book whose subtitle is Defending Yourself Against the Badasses Who Ran This CountryNo one.

Quomodo Invidiosulus Nomine Grinchus Christi Natalem Abrogaverit (aka How the Grinch Stole Christmas in LATIN)!  Because….Latin.

Winnie Ille Pu, by A.A. Milne and translated by Alexander Lenard.  Again….because LATIN!


Reading Around the Web

This past week I also read a number of articles I have saved for reading.  Some have to do with education and the new ESSA.  Some have to do with my latest TV guilty pleasure Making a Murderer (on Netflix….check it out!).  Others were just various funny things I had saved.

I also kept reading in Magnus Chase…still not done yet.  I’m hoping to kill it in the next day or two.  There has just been so much going on that my life went a little sideways.

I hope your New Year was filled with New Books and that you stay warm and toasty this week!


What did you read over the holidays?  Let’s talk below….

One thought on “IMWAYR – January 4, 2016

What are you reading today?

