It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Dec. 14, 2015

ItsMondayGraphicHere are some of the things I read that weren’t for Children’s Lit this past week.


I officially turned in all my assignments for the semester this morning.  In the last week I have not gotten a lot of reading in, but I thought I would share with you some of the awesome books and resources I found/used this semester.

Intro to Teaching

Those Who Can, Teach, by Kevin Ryan and James M. Cooper

This is a very interactive textbook.  I actually enjoyed reading it and answered the questions aloud or in my head every time I came across one.  If you are looking for an overview of teaching…check this one out.

The Middle School

Teaching in the Middle School, by M. Lee Manning and Katherine T. Bucher

Did you ever wonder what we can do to help ease middle grades students into adolescence?  Read this book!  It gives you the whys of what is happening with students and explores many of the hows of strategies to create successful learners.  If you watched Inside Out and thought “this makes so much sense”, read this book!

Differentiated Intruction

Integrating Differentiated Instruction and Understanding by Design, by Carol Ann Tomlinson and Jay McTighe

Creating an Inclusive School, edited by Richard A. Villa & Jacqueline S. Thousand

Have you ever wondered about how effective your inclusion practices are?  What tools and strategies can you use to create authentic, challenging work for all students?  If you want to know the practical and emotional impacts of inclusion, read these books!


Well folks, there you have it.  Some amazing textbooks and resources I used this semester.  Now I am free to read anything of my choosing.  I just don’t know what that is yet.  Got an idea?  Let’s talk below….

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Dec. 14, 2015

What are you reading today?

