IMWAYR – Challenge Week 10

This is my last, official #imwayr post of the semester.  ItsMondayGraphic

We read Challenge books for 10  weeks.  This is the final, official challenge week, but I know I’ll keep working on it, so stay tuned!  To learn more about my challenge, and to view my list of books, head over to the 100 Children’s Book tab at the top of the page!


For my final, official week, I have read 1 chapter book and 5 (yes, 5!) picture books.  Why so many picture books?  It is because bunch of them just came in at the library this past week!

The Picture Books

In the Challenge list, the Curious George book had a number of stories contained in one book.  To stay true to my intent, I chose to read three different George books and count them as one Curious George book off of my Challenge List.

Curious George, by H.A. Rey is the original story about that monkey and his curiosity, the man in the yellow hat, and an introduction to the simple style of H.A. Rey.

 

 

Curious George Gets a Medal, by H.A. Rey tells us about George’s mistakes as he tries to clean up his mess.  He just wants to make the man in the yellow hat happy, yet he always seems to mess something up!

 

Curious George Takes a Train, by Margret & H.A. Rey details all the trouble that our favorite monkey gets into while the man in the yellow hat goes to buy train tickets.

 

I liked reading these books.  I never was a huge Curious George fan as a kid, but the illustrations and sentence structure really brought me back to times when I watched Reading Rainbow.

 

See – a Reading Rainbow Book!

Speaking of Reading Rainbow, I read another book that was featured on that show.  Caps for Sale:  A Tale of  a Peddler, Some Monkeys and Their Monkey Business, by Esphyr Slobodkina is a silly story about a man who wears a bunch of hats on his head.  He falls asleep under a tree and the monkeys (silly monkeys) all come steal his hats.  The man discovers the mischief and eventually gets his hats back.  And I bet he never sleeps with the hats on his head again!  This would be an interesting book to read with students and have them imagine what they would do to get the hats back

 

The final picture book I read was Corduroy, by Don Freeman, tells us the story of a toy bear who just wants to go home with a child.  One night he takes an adventure throughout the department store to try and find his missing button.  He is purchased by the young girl the next day and she takes him home to fix his button.  This is a cute story that all kids would love.

The Novel

This week’s novel is another “old favorite” book.  From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, by E.L Konigsburg, is the story of runaways Claudia and James Kincaid, and their adventures while they lived within the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City.  They hide out in the museum for a week, living off of their savings,, and uncover the mystery of a statue called Angel.  Who sculpted this statue?  Was it the famous Michelangelo?

Claudia and Jamie’s adventure leads them to the most recent owner of the statue, Mrs. Basil E. Frenkweiler.  She becomes a semi-co-conspirator in their adventure, and the Kincaid children learn the truth about the statue.

I’ll be honest, I thought more of the book took place in Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler’s crazy filing system.  But alas, it did not.  I guess that’s what looking back 20 years without reading a book will do to the old memory!  I think this would be a great book to read with middle grades or upper elementary students.  It would be cool to even integrate art history lessons into the unit!


Well, that’s it for this semester’s Challenge books.  What did I not read that I definitely should read?  Which books should Santa bring me to read?  Let’s talk below…

5 thoughts on “IMWAYR – Challenge Week 10

  1. I had remembered Mrs Frankenweiler a little differently too. It’s always interesting to revisit old favorites from childhood. Curious George is one series that i haven’t revisited as an adult. I’d be curious how it holds up.

    Like

    1. George is certainly curious! Having worked in schools for a few years, I think George is about a curious and distracted as middle schoolers. I thought it was kind of dumb as a kid, but as an adult I think it is cute!

      Like

  2. It looks like you compiled a great list of books! I too read From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and loved it! Additionally, I liked the Curious George selections you made; you just can’t go wrong with Curious George. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. I never really read Curious George as a kid. Not sure why. But I really liked them. George is a strange little monkey!
      Did you like Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler? I remember loving it as a kid, although I thought more of it was exploring her files.

      Like

What are you reading today?

