IMWAYR – Challenge Week 7

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I have been reading more books on my Challenge list!  To learn more about my challenge, and to view my list of books, head over to the 100 Children’s Book tab at the top of the page!


I cannot believe we have been reading challenge books for 7 weeks now!  I felt like I was making a dent in my Amazon’s 100 Greatest Children’s Books challenge, but now I’m not so sure.

I only read 2 books this week, but they were both new to me.  I haven’t been great about estimating how much time a novel will take me to read, so even though I only read 1 picture book and 1 novel, I count this week as a success since I read more than 4 hours.

Now without further ado….

Olivia the Pig, by Ian Falconer, was a cute story of…you guessed it….Olivia the pig!  Fun illustrations added to this picture book’s introduction to Miss Olivia.  This is a book I will happily buy for all my nieces and nephews!

 

My novel this week was A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeline L’Engle, was also a new one for me.  This is the story of Meg, Calvin, and Charles Wallace.  They are carried through a time wrinkle by Mrs. Who, Mrs. Whatsit, and Mrs. Which.  They travel to the planet Camazotz to save Meg’s father from IT – a disembodied brain who controls the inhabitants of his world. 

Honestly, I thought the book was going to be about time travel on Earth.  However, the integration of science, theory of matter, time travel, alternate worlds, was something I wasn’t expecting.  There were parts of this novel that dragged for me – namely the time they are traveling through the wrinkles to Camazotz.

Madeline L’Engle’s Newbery winner certainly has a complicated plot.  But the characters are what makes the story for me.  Meg is a frustrated, angry, compassionate, scared, and mainly REAL girl.  I can totally relate to her.  And, she gets to be the hero!  She is the one who saves everyone!  It is her “flaws” that are the qualities needed to save her family.

All of that is worth a 3 star rating to me.  However, then I read the afterward section.  It started with a biography of Madeline L’Engle written by her granddaughter.  She talked about how the author wrote the book for herself, struggled to find a publisher, read extensively in scientific literature, and was a generally fun grandma!  Then this 50th Anniversary Edition had a copy of the last interview that L’Engle gave before her death.  Her frank answers, and surprising comments, showed her personality to me.  Finally, as with many Newbery books, it included her Newbery acceptance speech.  Once again, I was amazed at the strength and forward thinking of this amazing author.  My connection to the author through these extras edged the book into the 4 star zone!


So, there you have it.  A cute picture book with illustrations.  A Newbery that is made by the stories of the author.  Next week….a picture book that I’ve had on hold FOREVER is finally in at the library!  Also, a re-read novel from my childhood.  Will it hold up?

Have you read these two books?  Have ideas for my next reads?  Let’s talk below….

13 thoughts on “IMWAYR – Challenge Week 7

  1. I too read A Wrinkle in TIme earlier in the semester. Where do I begin with this book? The particular story is extremely sophisticated with various elements throughout. Comprised of love and mystery, it is sure to have you reading until the very last page. Additionally, the characters have the ability to bring about awareness from the reader in regards to the power of good and evil; a very interesting topic to reflect on. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. I would think that it would depend upon the age of students. Middle grades would be a great age. It would also be a great opportunity to integrate science and English curriculum!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how you add a little teaser at the end of your posts. It really makes me and other readers I am sure, want to come back and find out more! Your blog is always so organized and informative and I love checking it out!

    Like

  3. Olivia used to be my cousin’s favorite book growing up. A big part of the reason why is because her name is Olivia but she also really enjoyed the book. Her room was decorated with posters and Olivia stuffed animals, of course it has changed now that she is in high school but I know for a fact she still has the book in her room. I just always loved the fact that kids could love books so much that they want to decorate their rooms with a book theme instead of princess or cars! That to me is just awesome! Great post!

    Like

    1. I think you are right that book themed rooms are AMAZING! I wish I could re-do a room in my house to be a Wizard of Oz room. Alas, my husband won’t agree to that. Oh well, that’s what classrooms are for! 😀

      Like

    1. This is certainly an upper-elementary book. 5th grade? 6th grade? Lexile.com lists it as 740L (about 5th/6th grade). I think the biggest stumbling block would be the science vocabulary. I was glad I read this on Kindle so I could easily look stuff up!

      Like

What are you reading today?

