Wishlist Wednesday #11

Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Pen to Paper. This meme is where you showcase one book that is on your wishlist and that you can’t wait to get off your wishlist and into your hands.


Welcome to an awesome weekly meme:  Wishlist Wednesday!  This is a blog hop to share something that I am very excited to read…but haven’t read yet!

This week’s book has another KidLit Connection!  In my travels through the KidLit-o-sphere I have come across some pretty amazing people to follow.  One is Pernille Ripp.  She created something called the Global Read Aloud.

“What is the Global Read Aloud?”  Well, let me tell you!

The premise is simple; we pick a book to read aloud to our students during a set 6-week period and during that time we try to make as many global connections as possible. Each teacher decides how much time they would like to dedicate and how involved they would like to be. Some people choose to connect with just one class, while others go for as many as possible. The scope and depth of the project is up to you. In the past we have used Twitter, Skype, Edmodo, our wiki, email, regular mail, Kidblog, Tackk, and any other tools we can think of to make these connections. Teachers get a community of other educators to do a global project with, hopefully inspiring them to continue these connections through the year.

Courtesy http://theglobalreadaloud.com/about-the-gra/


So I missed this year’s reading, but I’ve seen so many fun things about the book that I have added it to my ever-growing wishlist.

It’s the story of Ally, a student who has cleverly deceived teachers at each new school.  She is hiding the fact that she cannot read.  Then she meets Mr. Daniels who sees her bright, intelligent personality.


Follow the link and join the blog hop!

 

8 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday #11

    1. I hadn’t heard of it before hearing of the Great Global Read Aloud. I thought some of the projects and collaborations I saw via Twitter were excellent. I then jumped over to Amazon and LOVED the description of the book. I cannot wait!

      Like

  1. Global Read Aloud sounds like it could be really fun! I think it would be great for my future classroom! It would be interesting to connect with other classrooms and see what they think about different books. Great post!

    Like

    1. I love the idea of the Global Read Aloud! Especially living in a small town, my students do not always have a chance to collaborate with people they do not go to school with. I think it is awesome to show students what kids in other areas are doing. I would love to use it in my class someday too!

      Like

What are you reading today?

