IMWAYR – Challenge Week 4

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I have been reading more books in my 100 Children’s Book Challenge.  Head over to the 100 Children’s Book tab for my full list!


I  cannot believe it has been four weeks of my reading challenge!  I’ve read quite a few books, but not quite as many as I had planned.  Tune in later in the week for a check in on the challenge!

This week I actually utilized our local library’s e-book loan system.  (I know…I didn’t even buy them!)

The first book I read was one off of my “Old Favorites” list.  The Mouse and tmouse and the motorcyclehe Motorcycle, by Beverly Cleary, tells the story of Ralph S. Mouse – a courageous, rebellious mouse – and his new friend, Keith – a young boy staying in Ralph’s motel with his parents.  The two bond over a toy motorcycle and become friends.  When Keith gets sick, it is Ralph and his motorcycle who must journey out and save the day!

I remember that I loved this book as a kid.  I also know that there is a movie out there – I know I’ve seen it!  I fell in love with Ralph S. Mouse all over again.  I recommend this book to all kids, lovers of imagination, and daring mice just waiting for their lives to begin!

My second novel this week was a “New To Me” read.  Are You There, God?  It’s Me, Margaret, by Judy Bloom, is the story of almost 12-year-old Margaret and her life as a new student in a suburban 6th grade.  Bloom tackles all the struggles of the 6th grade with finesse and characters who really stand out.

are you there god

I could not believe that I had never read this before!  How on Earth did I miss out on Are You There, God?  I felt like the awkward 6th grade girl I once was.  This masterpiece should be read by all girls.  Even if they are 12 (+20) years old now!


This week’s picture book comes from the “Old Favorites” list.  Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs is a fantastic story about a world where the weather is food.  Lots of crazy things happen, including amazing illustrations.

cloudy with a chance of meatballsI actually had never read this one until I was an adult.  We bought it one year for the “things to play with at Aunt & Uncle’s house” box.  It has really great illustrations and is a fun little story.  Everyone should read it once.


Well, that’s what I read!  What did you read this week?  Have you read these books before?  What should I read next?

Let’s chat in the comments!

14 thoughts on “IMWAYR – Challenge Week 4

  1. It looks like you compiled a great list of books! You just can’t beat “Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs”; I love that book! Also, “The MOuse and the motorcycle” sounds awesome; I’ll have to add that to my future read list. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. I know there is a movie of The Mouse and the Motorcycle too. I remember watching it as a kid, but I haven’t looked for it lately.

      Like

  2. I honestly love reading your posts! You always give great reviews and read books I have not really heard of. I did however read the book Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. I really enjoyed this book and was able to read to some students and they really enjoyed it as well.

    Like

  3. “The Mouse and the Motorcycle” looks adorable, and I’ll admit, I love anything with rodents! I remember reading “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” at my grandma’s house, it’s a fun little book. Right now I’m reading a book I remember reading in middle school, “Stargirl”. It’s interesting to read something I read so long ago again!

    Like

      1. It’s about a girl who shows up one day at the main character’s school and is very different than the norm. She dresses crazy and doesn’t care what others think and soon everyone starts liking her instead of making fun of her. That’s as far as I’ve gotten, but I’ll be talking about it in my next Monday post. 🙂

        Like

  4. The Mouse and the Motorcycle and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs were two of my childhood favorites too. I remember having my parents read them to me and then reading them to myself and I can’t wait to read them to my kids! For whatever reason I never got into many Judy Bloom books which is weird because I love Jodi Picoult and Lurlene McDaniel books and I feel like Bloom is sort of in the same category right? Maybe not, but this book sounds like a story I would enjoy!

    Like

What are you reading today?

