IMWAYR – Challenge Week 3

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I have been reading more books in my 100 Children’s Book Challenge.  Head over to the 100 Children’s Book tab for my full list!


So I started the post last week with the confession that I had not finished my third book.  I teased my mystery book and here is the review for you now!!

The Watsons Go To Birmingham – 1963, by Christopher Paul Curtis, was certainly worth the read!  After my professor’s enthusiastic recommendation, I immediately ordered the paperback.

The story follows the Weird Watsons:  Kenny (middle child and hilarious narrator of the watsons go to birminghamstory), his older brother Byron (aka Daddy Cool, a real “hoodlum”), younger sister Joetta (Joey), Momma (Wilona, a Southern belle who fell hard for a jokester), and Dad (Daniel, a typical American dad).  The family lives in Flint, Michigan where they encounter all the normal things all families encounter.  First there is Byron and his friend Buphead who get into trouble.  There is Kenny who befriends the new kids in school, and proceeds to share what little he has with them.  Joey who cries at the drop of a hat and is most certainly the baby of the family.

They do not head to Birmingham until later in the novel.  By this time, I have fallen in love with the humor of Kenny and his realistic narration.  While they are in Birmingham visiting Wilona’s mother (with intentions of Byron staying with her for the summer), the 16th Street Baptist Church Bombing of 1963 occurs.

I expected this novel to be steeped in civil rights history.  However, it truly is the story of the Weird Watsons and the crazy, normal things that happen to families.  I strongly recommend this Newbery winner to everyone.  Thanks for the recommendation Professor!


For my other novel this week, I read another graphic novel.  This week I combed through my list and found an all time favorite.  The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, retold by Eric Shanover and illustrated by Skottie Young, is one of my favorite adaptations of the classic Oz story.  Shanover and Young work diligently to stay true to the L. Frank Baum original text.  Skottie Young, an artist who works on various Marvel comics, brings a beautiful world to life.

I mean, look at this art work and tell me that it isn’t beautiful!

File_000File_002  File_005

Definitely read it, and the following books they have completed together, as well.  A great into to the world of graphic novels!


Finally, for my picture book this week, I decided to read some Dr. Seuss.  The Amazon list includes a collection that includes five books.  I was only able to read four of them, but here they were! 

The Cat in the Hat – the classic story that started them all.  Two siblings stuck inside alone on a rainy day encounter a giant cat who brings chaos, and fun, to the house.  Add in one fish who is a rule follower and you have a classic!

Green Eggs and Ham – Sam I Am, I do not like Green Eggs and Ham!  This is my favorite Seuss book (aside from How the Grinch Stole Christmas) and I have the book nearly memorized.  I did sit and read the book aloud to my corgi though.  Yup, nerd city here!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hop on Pop – I honestly think I never read this one before.  It’s cute rhymes and poetic meter would make an interesting analysis of poetry for young readers and writers.  This is one I am wanting to own for my own classroom.

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish – I was super bummed out that my local library didn’t have the copy of this classic in stock.  I guess someone else wanted to read about silly fish and other silly things this week!  Thankfully, I have amazing co-workers who graciously offered their copy for me to read.  I actually had offers from no less than 5 co-workers!  Thanks to you all for your support of my reading habit!


So, that’s where I am at on my Challenge!  I had hoped to read another novel, but with a crazy week at work and a not fun sinus headache this weekend, this is what I read.

What did you read this week?  What should I put on the list for this coming week?  Which of the “new to me” books do I need to get in my hands?  Let’s talk below!

19 thoughts on “IMWAYR – Challenge Week 3

  1. I agree with Elisabeth in the Oz graphic novel. I’m really glad you were able to throw in a few pages from the book, that is what I do to when I have reviewed graphic novels this semester. The Watsons Go To Birmingham might have the ability to be more powerful than a lecture on civil rights. One of our biggest rules in writing theatre is that you “You can’t make them cry, unless you make them laugh first.”

    Like

    1. I fell in love with the illustrations at Free Comic Book Day a few years ago. They put them out in serials by Marvel, then publish the complete book!

      Like

  2. I have read the Oz graphic novels as well and I agree, the artwork is beautiful and just captures Oz! Daisy looks like a very attentive listener. 🙂 My favorite Dr. Seuss book was always “There’s a Wocket in my Pocket!”

    Like

  3. That Graphic novel looks epic! The pictures are so neat! Also, there’s no judgment for you reading to your corgi. I love corgis! Animals are great reading partners too, they don’t interrupt you.

    Like

    1. I love this graphic novel series! The illustrations are great. I only have the first three Oz books in this format though. 😖

      Like

  4. The Watson’s Go to Birmingham sounds like a fun book to read. Books about the civil rights always interest me. And what’s better than having some humor along with family stories. I will have to add this book to my to read list. You have a great list of books you read. Dr. Seuss books are always great reads. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. I love the sound of The Watson’s Go to Birmingham! I love Civil Rights books anyway, and think it is great to get kids exposed to these events, and this sounds like it would be a really unique and every day perspective. I will definitely have to add it to the list! 🙂

    I wonder if I ought to read the graphic version of The Wizard of Oz…it sounds wonderful! I still have not read a full graphic novel yet…that will be my goal in the next 2 weeks!

    Like

    1. The graphic novel version of Oz is great! If you want to ease yourself into graphic novels, try something in the Wimpy Kid format!

      Like

    1. I have not read that one in FOREVER!
      I do happen to (nerdily) own Quomodo Invidiosulus Nomine Grinchus Christi Natalem Abrogaverit …. I sure do love the Grinch and I love Latin!

      Like

  6. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz sounds and looks like a great book! Those pictures make it seem like you could easily get into it. I’m also a huge Dr. Seuss fan and have many of his books on my bookshelf at home. Sounds like you had a hectic week and weekend but still got a lot of reading done, that’s great! Great post!

    Like

  7. That adaptation of “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” looks absolutely amazing! The story itself is fantastic, however, with art work like that, it adds an additional element for the reader. Thank you for sharing that novel, I will have to check that one out. I love the artwork!

    Like

What are you reading today?

