Harry Potter Thursday #7

HPMOTW (2)

Harry Potter Moment of the Week hosted by Uncorked Thoughts!  Check out the blog-hop and other cool stuff over there!

The aim of this meme is to share with fellow bloggers a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/ films/ J. K. Rowling herself or anything Potter related!


Today’s Potter Question:  Share your favorite McGonagall moment.

First, I must say, Minerva McGonagall is my favorite Hogwarts staff member.  She has some amazing lines.  She is a firm, but caring, educator and she only wants the best for Harry, Ron, Hermione, and all herGryffindors.  The fact that in the films she is played by Maggie Smith (one of my all time favorite actresses) makes her even more perfect.

One of my favorite McGonagall moments comes in Harry Potter and the Prisioner of Azkaban.  Harry is asking for an exemption to having his Hogsmead waiver signed by a guardian.  While McGonagall, and all the staff, love Harry, she will not be swayed.  Rules are rules and Professor McGonagall ensures that everyone is treated fairly.

‘I’m afraid not, Potter,’ she [Professor McGonagall] said. ‘You heard what I said. No form, no visiting the village. That’s the rule.’

‘But – Professor, my aunt and uncle – you know, they’re Muggles, they don’t really understand about – about Hogwarts forms and stuff,’ Harry said, while Ron egged him on with vigorous nods. ‘If you said I could go –’

‘But I don’t say so,’ said Professor McGonagall, standing up and piling her papers neatly into a drawer. ‘The form clearly states that the parent or guardian must give permission.’ She turned to look at him, with an odd expression on her face. Was it pity? ‘I’m sorry, Potter, but that’s final word. You had better hurry, or you’ll be late for your next lesson.’ (8)

She is the type of teacher I want to be someday.  What a great and well developed character!


What is your favorite McGonagall moment?  Let’s talk below….

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Thursday #7

  1. I’m not sure if I could ever pick my favorite McGonagall moment. I would have to say that the one you quoted is one of my favorites. I really enjoyed the moments of the children’s first transfiguration class when she stuns them with her own transfiguration from cat to human!

    Like

What are you reading today?

