IMWAYR – Challenge Week 1

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I have been reading books on my Challenge List.  I met this week’s goal of reading 3 books.  I also met the goal that at least 1 will be new to me!  In fact, they were all new to me, so that helps!


The book I spent the most time with this week was…..

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up untwonderil now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance. Summary Courtesy Amazon

I really enjoyed this novel.  I actually was unaware that it was told from different POVs until I got to “Part 2”!  August’s experiences in middle school, the perspectives of his friends and family, and getting into different characters’ minds all work to make this a great book.  This would be a great read to talk about how compassion, honor, and truth mix to create who we are.

The book I can’t believe I never read was…..

harold and the purple crayonHarold and the Purple Crayon, by Crockett Johnson, is the cute story of what Harold does when he follows the drawings of his purple crayon and his imagination.  This cute story tells of this boy and the places his imagination can take him.

The book I want to share with nephews and nieces……

press herePress Here, by Herve Tullet, is a very fun and interactive book.  The text of the book asks you to different things to the dots on the page.  Even though I sat here, as an adult, to read this alone, I “pressed here” and “tapped there” and “shook the book”!  Very cool book!


What did you read this week?  Did you follow your reading plan?  What should I read next from my 100 Children’s Books list?

Let’s talk books below!

14 thoughts on “IMWAYR – Challenge Week 1

  1. I have never read any of these books but they seem really good. What reading levels would you say these books are? I am going to have to look into them myself because they sound really good! Which was your favorite for the week?

    Like

    1. Wonder is an older reader book – probably 5th grade.
      Press Here and Harold and the Purple Crayon are both aimed at young children.
      I would say my favorite of the week was Wonder. I really got into Auggie’s mind and felt what he was feeling. Really good.

      Like

  2. I read Harold and the Purple Crayon a long time ago. I think that young children would really enjoy it. Have you read any other Harold books by Crockett Johnson?? I saw that she has other books, like Harold at the North Pole, and Harold’s Circus.

    Like

  3. I love the sound of Wonder! I will definitely have to check that one out soon and read it. 🙂 The different POVs sound like they really add to the story and make it that much more interesting! Would you say it is about a 5th grade reading level?

    Like

    1. I’m not sure. It is quite a long chapter book (200+ pages). And the topic is good but fairly heavy. Auggie is in 5th grade during the book and touches on issues that pre-teens face. I know Prof. Ellington said she gave it to her son’s 5th grade teacher. Seems to be about 5th grade if you consider all of that.
      Anyone else know??

      Like

  4. I remember reading Press Here when I was younger and I thought it was the coolest book. I am sure if I read it today that I too would partake in what the book asked me to do! Great post!

    Like

    1. I guess I thought that Press Here was a new-release type book. It was on the “New book 14 day check-out” portion of our library! Glad to learn something new today! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      1. You are probably right! It must be a similar interaction book that I am thinking of! I remember reading a book and pointing to the images! I’m sure there are a lot of them out there!

        Like

  5. So glad you read and enjoyed Wonder! It’s one that I really like to recommend to students because it’s got so much appeal. My son’s 5th-grade teacher read it aloud to the class (after I gave him a copy!) and my son still talks about Augie, two years later! There is a companion book of short stories you might want to get too. If you liked Harold, be sure to get Aaron Becker’s Journey and Quest–similar plots, gorgeous pictures.

    Like

What are you reading today?

