Mirror, Mirror…

Courtesy a Creative Commons License

Mirror, Mirror on the wall…how has my reading gone this fall?

Today I am “reflecting” (haha…a pun!) on this question.  I started this blog for my Children’s Lit class, and I have read a LOT of books (over 50 in about a month)!  I’ve read some books that I have loved (The One and Only Ivan, I Lived on Butterfly Hill, Bad Kitty).  I have also read some books that I did not like at all (some of the Caldecott books).

What types of books do I like?  What about them makes them favorites?

I find that my favorite books have been mostly chapter books written for older elementary readers.  I make connections with books that have strong, well developed characters.  My favorite books this semester have all contained the worlds of my favorite characters.  Ivan, Celeste, Kitty, are all characters I found myself emotionally invested in.  Books without strong characters simply do not resonate with me.

What types of books do I dislike?  What about them doesn’t connect with me?

The books that I have disliked most have been the illustrated picture books with no words.  The illustrations are great, but it is hard for me to connect with the setting or characters through a picture book.  I want to know the characters’ background, their hopes, their struggles, and get a sense of who they are.  Some of these illustrated picture books just left me wanting a connection.

Which award winners have resonated most with me?

I have read books that have won several awards:  Caldecott, Newbery, Pura Belpre, Schneider Family Medal, Coretta Scott King,… The list goes on and on.

My favorites have been the award-winners that immerse me in another culture.  I Lived on Butterfly Hill immersed me in a culture that was a stretch for me, but ultimately was a wonderful experience.  I felt the same way when I read Dave the Potter.  This sense of belonging in the story is one of the things I love about these books.


What does this mean for me as a reader?
  1. I need a character (or two) that I truly connect with.  I want to be a part of the story.  I want to escape the boring “real world” and travel to another world with a friend from the story.
  2. I want a book that follows an “underdog”.  Someone who works hard, is kind, and somehow solves the major conflict with kindness and humor.  (And a happy ending doesn’t hurt either!)
What doesGreenEggs this mean for me as a reader of Children’s Lit?

I tend to gravitate towards Children’s books that fit the things I love about all books.  I think that in the future this will mean that I tend to choose books that I enjoy to teach and explore with my students.


How has your reading gone?  What things do you like?  What things do you not like?  Let’s talk below!

8 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror…

  1. I too like picture books that have more than just a few words. I don’t mind it if it’s a book like “Flotsam” because that’s artistic, but simple books that I guess are meant for younger readers just don’t connect with me. I’ve found that I like fairytales and fantasy worlds and characters! Crazy adventures are my favorite. And yes, strong characters are great! I think they make great characters for little ones to look up to.

    Like

    1. I actually really did not like “Flotsam” at all! In fact, I spent the whole time “arguing” with the book. Why would this kid have a microscope on the beach? How would he even know what film was, let alone find a 1 hour photo to develop that messed up film? What store still sells that old film? It was a battle for me to get through it!
      I love fairy tales and fantasy worlds too! Do you have any recommendations of a great book?

      Like

      1. I suppose it worked for me since it was a very surreal book and I do like surreal, but I see your point!
        I recently read “The Girl with the Silver Eyes” and I enjoyed it for the most part. It’s about a little girl who can move things without touching them and how she doesn’t fit in with society and her family. It’s an interesting and different read!

        Like

  2. I literally laughed out loud while reading your pun! This class has helped me understand what appeals to me as a reader. Having that understanding, I just finished “The Graveyard Book” for an upcoming blog and it was a pleasure to read. It’s so relieving to finally enjoy most aspects of reading and to have the opportunity to share that similarity with others. Keep up the great work and happy reading!

    Like

    1. I get my punny sense of humor from my Dad….so LOTs of puns fly around my brain!
      I am also reading “The Graveyard Book” for this coming week’s post! Seems that we have some reading tastes in common. You mention you “finally enjoy most aspect of reading”. I’m curious as to the parts that are NOT enjoyable.
      We should link up on Goodreads to get suggestions from each others book lists. 🙂

      Like

      1. Sounds like a great idea! “The Graveyard Book” is awesome! And as for the not enjoyable parts; completing the book, especially “The Graveyard Book”, I wanted more!

        Like

What are you reading today?

