Harry Potter Thursday #3

HPMOTW (2)

Harry Potter Moment of the Week hosted by Uncorked Thoughts!  Check out the blog-hop and other cool stuff over there!

The aim of this meme is to share with fellow bloggers a character, spell, chapter, object, quote etc. from the books/ films/ J. K. Rowling herself or anything Potter related!


Today’s Potter Question:  Which one of the 5 trials the trio faced in Philosopher’s Stone would have been your downfall? (Flitwick’s flying keys, Sprout’s plants, Snape’s potion riddle, McGonagall’s chess match or Dumbledore’s Mirror/Stone trick)

This seems fairly easy for me to pick.  I would fail Flitwick’s flying keys!  Besides the fact that every time I cry “Accio Broom!” nothing happens, I am terrified of heights.  I don’t even like to have to stand on a chair to hang/take down something.

I feel like I could pull a “Hermione” on the plants, potion, chess, or mirror/stone trick.  These all require logic and knowledge which I think I’m fairly strong at.  However, athletic and physical ability are way out of my league!

But let’s admit it.  The only way our fave trio made it through is that they worked together!  If I’d have to pick two teammates in this challenge, I’d pick Oliver Wood (to slaughter the flying key challenge) and Neville Longbottom (to woo the plants of course!).


How about you?  Which of the five tasks would be your downfall?

Or, who would you want to team with (real-world or Potter-world) to beat them all?

Let’s talk about it below!

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Thursday #3

  1. I totally agree with you, except I also would have failed on the chess game, since I have never learned how to play it–oops! I would not make a very great British person, I fear..haha.

    I also feel like the only way they made it through was because they worked together…and thank goodness for Hermione. Harry sure would not have made it through life without her awesome skill! Can you imagine a Harry Potter without her? I sure can’t…

    Like

    1. I cannot wait until November’s HPThursday that asks to name the books from Hermione’s perspective!
      I love that she is a beautiful example of how intelligence, and that awkward time of our lives called middle school, can blossom into true friendship.
      She is my favorite witch or wizard! (McGonagall – played by Maggie Smith – is a close second!)

      Like

  2. I love your thought about assembling your own team! I’m a sucker for any sort of Harry Potter spin off, if even just in thought. My least favorite would be the plant, because I am very claustrophobic, and could hardly watch that scene. Would definitely want Neville by my side there if he worked up the courage to go! After reading Order of the Phoenix, I often wonder what the story would have been like if the prophecy was really written for Neville. Do you think it still would have worked? Interesting to think about!

    Like

What are you reading today?

