It’s Monday! What are you reading?

ItsMondayGraphicThis week I have been reading children’s literary award winners and honors.  Here’s what I read!


Coretta Scott King

The Coretta Scott King award is granted to books by African-American authors and illustrators who create children’s books that celebrate the African-American experience.DavethePotter-CorrettaScottKing

I read Dave the Potter:  Artist, Poet, Slave, by  Laban Carrick Hill.  This beautiful picture book tells the story of Dave, a slave who created gorgeous pottery. Pottery with Dave’s signature and inscription has survived.  The few surviving pieces demonstrate the skill this artisan possessed.

Pura Blepre Award

The Belpre Medal is granted to Latino/Latina authors and illustrators for books that best portray, affirm, or celebrate the Latino cultural experience in books forButterflyHill-PuraBelpre children.

I read I Lived on Butterfly Hill, by Marjorie Agosin.    Celeste’s parents are doctors who advocate for healthcare for the poor.  When the president of Chile is murdered, Celeste’s parents must go into hiding.  Celeste is then sent to live with her aunt in America.  The novel follows the Marconi family as they must flee and abandon their beautiful Chile, Celeste’s journey and experiences as an exile in America, and the families struggles to come together again.  Celeste’s story illustrates the experiences of those who have fled from militaristic regimes in South American countries.

Sibert Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award honors the authors and illustrators of informational books for children.  There are so many in this category that was difficult to choose.

I ended up actually changing my original choice because of the length of SeparateIsNeverEqual-Sibertother books this week.  I read Separate is Never Equal:  Sylvia Mendez and Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation, by Duncan Tonatiuh, tells us the story of the first court battle for desegregation.  Sylvia and her brothers were sent to learn in the “Mexican school” in the neighborhood, rather than attend the local school.  This battle for equal education, and lawsuits filed by the Mendez family, were the precursors to the landmark Brown v. Board of Education (1954) desegregation case.

Schneider Family Award

SplashofRed-SchneiderFamilyAwardThe Schneider Family Book Award honors a book that positively and accurate portrays the disability experience in children’s books.

A Splash of Red:  The Life and Art of Horace Pippin, by Jennifer Fisher Bryant, tells the story of Horace Pippin and his art.  He was injured in WWI and lost the functioning of his right arm.  Pippin returned to his childhood love of art, and continued to create art with splashes of red.  Horace used his rehabilitation after his disability to continue to make art, and this story demonstrates the challenges of living with a disability.

Buckaroo Book Award

The Buckaroo Book Award is sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming Reading Council.  The objective of this award is to have Wyoming students in Kindergarten through third grade read new fiction and vote on their favorites.3-ninja-pigs-BuckarooBook

The book Three Ninja Pigs, by Corey Rosen Schwartz and illustrated by Dan Santat, was the winning book in 2014-2015.  It is a retelling of the Three Little Pigs that centers around the pigs learning to defend themselves from the wolf.  This rhyming, metered book allows for a sing-song retelling.  I know students (and adults) of all ages love this book!  I picked it up at a book fair last year and it is a great, fun book!


What did you read this week?  Do you have any suggestions for me?

Let’s talk below!

14 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. This was a great assignment because we had the opportunity to choose from some really great books! The Three Ninja Pigs sounds like an awesome book to read.I feel like this would be a great addition to the classroom because the title is rather eye catching Also, all of the books that you listed I have never read before! I’ll have to add these books to my wishlist for next week! Great job!

    Like

    1. It has amazing images! It is a short picture book – takes 10-15 minutes to read aloud. Well, unless some ninja moves don’t happen. 😀
      We read it with 7th grade girls who all LOVED it. Let me know how it goes over in your house.

      Like

  2. I’ve been avoiding I Lived on Butterfly Hill because of the length, I must confess. But your review intrigues me. I’m going to have to check it out. I like that you’re making adjustments in your list based on how much time books are taking. Separate Is Never Equal was a real eye-opener to me–great book. And A Splash of Red is one of my favorites!

    Like

    1. I loved “Separate Is Never Equal”! I had never heard about the court case or about the family before.
      When I was searching for this past week’s books, I kept coming back to the summary and reviews of “I Lived on Butterfly Hill”. The length was a bit daunting, but I really connected with Celeste and the struggles she faced! It is definitely worth the time investment.

      Like

    1. It was wonderful! The writing is superb and I really understood some of the feelings of exiles.

      I’d recommend this to everyone! It is a bit long (~450 pages), but I am so glad I chose it.

      Liked by 1 person

What are you reading today?

